For staff: London Met programmes

Partnership liaison librarian: Karen Chan

TWO LIBRARIES

Students and staff have access to two libraries.

University Library

QAHE students can visit and study at the main university library. However, they may only borrow books from the QAHE Libraries.

QAHE campus libraries

ACCESS

Staff usernames and passwords are provided by the QAHE Quality team (Maddy Lee). For students, access details are emailed to their personal email address upon enrollment with the university.

Once you have your login, please register for the FastPass Password Manager to be able to change/reset the password. Without such registration, any changes can be made via the IT Help Chat on the IT Self Service Portal.

All QAHE staff accounts have a sponsor from among the university staff members. QAHE staff have to raise a request for the account to be extended with their sponsor every 180 days.

Single sign-on

After logging into Weblearn, no further usernames and passwords are required for library resources. Due to licence restrictions, staff members will only be able to access selected online resources provided by the university library. Students should be able to access them all.

VLeBooks (QAHE ebook library)

Guide

Students can access all the university databases; see Subject guides , the Business, Health & Social Care ones are most relevant to QAHE-based students. QAHE staff can access the databases listed here:

  • ACLS Humanities ebooks

  • Bridgeman

  • Brill journal archive

  • British Periodicals Collections I & II

  • Cambridge Online

  • Cambridge Companions

  • Cambridge Journals Archive

  • Credo Reference

  • Emerald Management Ejournals (relevant to the Business programme)

  • Oxford Journals Archive

  • Passport (relevant to the Business programme)

  • Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)

  • Project Muse

  • Science Direct

  • Vogue Archive

  • Web of Science

  • Wiley Online

WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING FOR?

Textbooks

Reading lists give an idea of relevant textbooks; library catalogues show what else is available.

Reading lists: London Metropolitan (also synced with Weblearn module pages) and QAHE.

Library catalogues: London Metropolitan and QAHE.

Trade publications

Trade publications are a valuable source of practitioners' experience and knowledge. They are different to scholarly publications. Some are available on open access: use Google or similar. For some paid-for publications, use the Business Source Complete and Academic Search Complete databases. After searching, limit the results with the Source Types filter for Trade Publications.

Statistics, secondary publications and market research

There is no single aggregator or tool to search for stats and market research. Use each electronic resource one by one, depending on your objectives. See subject guides for relevant databases: Business or Health & Social Care.

Market research, data and statistics are often published by governments, NGOs etc. on open access - use Google or similar; see also Open access.

Scholarly publications

Academic research is published in scholarly (peer-revewed) journals, conference papers and monographs. The most commonly used search tool for them is Google Scholar. To see London Metropolitan subscriptions (alongside open-access content), go to Settings - Library links - search for London Metropolitan - select the London Metropolitan University options (there are two of them) - Save.