Open Access

EBOOKS

Google Books

Google Books gives access to millions of scanned books, usually only their fragments, not full text. It searches inside books; therefore, it is good for researching topics normally covered on only few pages in large volumes. Some books are better and more appropriate for academic study than others, therefore always check:

  • Who are the authors: are they researchers or university tutors or experienced professionals/practitioners? Does the book have endorsements from other researchers and university tutors?

  • For whom it is written: various books are written for different audiences, e.g. general public, undergraduate or postgraduate students, specialists in a particular subject. Choose those that you can understand and leave aside those that don’t make sense or seem too basic.

  • Who is the publisher: have they published other academic titles? If the publisher is obscure or unknown to you, check again that the author is a reputable researcher and that the book has endorsements from other researchers and academic institutions.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

Search for books on your subject

Open Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)

Includes academic journal articles and books; click on Advanced Search; filter your search by content type, subject, country and region.

ACADEMIC RESEARCH

Search engines

Google Scholar

Semantic Scholar

Microsoft Academic

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine): a search engine operated by Bielefeld University Library. More than half of the academic resources provided are open access.

Plug-ins

Unpaywall integrates with a Chrome browser and compares the browsed pages with its database of scholarly publications on open access.

Interdisciplinary repositories and collections

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Search for journals and articles on your subject

Open Directory of Open Access Repositories (OpenDOAR)

Includes academic journal articles and books; click on Advanced Search; filter your search by content type, subject, country and region

Electronic Journals Library

Service providing full-text ejournals; choose your subject

Connecting Repositories (CORE)

Aggregation of content from open access repositories and journals

EThOS

A databases of doctoral theses maintained by the British Library

CORE

Collection of open access research papers

Science.gov

Search engine by the USA federal government

Economics, business and finance

EconBiz

Service of the German National Library of Economics (ZBW) Leibniz Information Centre for Economics containing journals, working papers and conferences in Business and Economics. Select Open Access only.

Annual Reviews

Journals on economics, financial economics, resource economics, organisational behaviour and statistics.

Computer science

ArXiv

Archive of journal articles

SiteSeerX

A free scientific literature digital library of over 300,000 computer science articles on the web. Users can search for citations or documents that are web based.

OSTI - Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)

The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) makes discoverable over 70 years of research results from DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.

DATA AND STATISTICS

Accounting and finance open access data sources (University of Bristol)

Accounting and finance open access academic sources (University of Bristol)

City Business Library (CBL)

See the CBL recommended websites

World Bank Open Data

Free access to global development data

International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Economic and financial data and statistics; includes World Economic Outlook (WEO) databases

Business, economic and financial information

Search engines, UK, EU and international data, datasets and databases (company, country and market data, statistics, business case studies, business and consumer surveys, academic journal articles on business)

Food and Agriculture Organization corporate statistical database (FAOSTAT)

Free access to food and agriculture data

British Chambers of Commerce (BCC)

Economic data (surveys, reviews and forecasts)

EU Open Data Portal (EU ODP)

Open data published by EU institutions and bodies; click on the Data tab; search datasets by subject, group and publisher

Find open data

Data published by central government, local authorities and public bodies; select your topic; filter by publisher and format

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

The World Factbook provides country profiles and comparisons

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)

Economic data from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (publications, working papers, time series); contains the RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) IDEAS database of economic research

European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)

Freely available European standards

Office National Statistics (ONS)

This nationally-recognised body specialises in collecting, analysing and disseminating statistics about the UK's economy, society and population.

PARTNER UNIVERSITIES' OPEN ACCESS LISTS

Solent University

Ulster University: Finding OA sources | Business Statistics

University of Roehampton