Databases

  • Databases are collections of publications: articles, reports etc. Some specialise in academic research publications (scholarly or peer-reviewed articles and conference papers), others specialise in market research (market analysis, data and statistics).

  • See also Open access resources.

  • See the university LibGuide for a list of all electronic resources.

  • Moodle details are required to access university databases.

Important - Statista login issues

Statista database is currently experiencing login issues. The IT Team are working to resolve this as soon as possible, but below is a temporary work-around solution:

  • On the Statista login screen, select:

  • Login - Campus Access

  • Scroll down to 'if you have access' and search for Roehampton

  • Enter your usual login details

Please contact the QA library team if you need any help with this.

Business

Scholarly publications (academic research)

  • Business Source Premier: academic (peer-reviewed) and professional (trade) publications.

  • Emerald Insight: accounting, finance & economics, business, management & strategy, education, health & social care, HR, learning & organizational studies, marketing, operations, logistics & quality, public policy & environmental management, and tourism & hospitality.

  • HeinOnline: law and law-related topics.

  • Taylor & Francis Online: social sciences and humanities.

Market research

Study skills, research management and referencing

Computing

Scholarly publications (academic research)

  • IEEE Xplore is the world's largest research database in technology and engineering.

    1. On-campus access: no login is required when using the campus wifi or classroom and library computers.

    2. For off-campus login, use the link on Moodle. Further guidance

  • O'Reilly: e-books and videos in computer science, digital photography, technology, and business. Also includes curated playlists, learning paths and case studies.

  • Science Direct: Technical and scientific journals.

Market research

Study skills, research management and referencing

Search techniques

Almost all academic databases require users to use the following search techniques, rather than doing a Google-style search:

  • Use search terms (e.g. important words or phrases), not sentences or questions.

  • Combine search terms using search operators (AND, OR, NOT), e.g. sole trader AND legal obligations, rather than typing sentences (e.g. What are the legal obligations of a sole trader).

  • Use truncation (* = substitute for any number of characters) to broaden the scope of your search (e.g. searching for market* will return results with market, markets, marketing etc.).

  • Use phrase search (search for a phrase in speech marks, “…”) if searching for a stable expression, particularly specific terminology or spelling (e.g. searching for “social media marketing” will ignore any results where these three words are not together). Google understands the phrase search technique too.

Refining your search results

Databases contain lots of information and searches usually retrieve many results. You may wish to reduce the number of results by refining your search. You can do this in every database. They have different interfaces but the functionality and options are the same. Below is an example of how to refine search results in Business Source.

  • Enter your search terms. Think carefully about which words you use as this will affect the results you retrieve (synonyms, alternative spellings etc.).

  • On the search page, there will be limiting factors of which you can make use. We recommend restricting your search to full-text documents and altering the date range. Depending on the topic, you may also wish to refine the results to peer-reviewed journals.

  • On the results page, you will see more options to limit your results. You may wish to further limit them by publication, geography or subject etc.

Remember, all databases will look different because they have different user interfaces, but they all have similar limiting factors you can use to restrict your search results. To explore this further, read the 'Help' sections within each database.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an academic, multi-disciplinary database provided by Google. It is Open Access, meaning usernames and passwords are not required.